PenRei’s Relationships with Tights

When I was just a little girl (Que sera sera), for about 8 years, I danced approximately 35 hours a week… until I discovered my knees sucked majorly and I could either have an incredibly short-lived career in dance (we’re talking weiner dog short), or stop dancing and be able to walk past the age of 30. Being of sound mind, walking for the rest of my life seemed like a big deal, so I opted to slowly stop dancing. Still, despite the fact that I’ve never really considered myself a girly girl (safe for that 5 year old Disney princess phase), tights were a regular part of my life. Anyway, I find myself to be stuck in a repetitive cycle when it comes to my relationship with tights.

INT – STORE – DAY TIME
PenRei shops in the tights section looking for some new colour to add to her many black and grey skirts. She picks up an awesome dark red pair to which she falls in love with at first sight.
Tights: Hey there baby! Those are some nice legs you got there.
PenRei: Uh, thanks! I’m a fan of your colour.
Tights: I could go really well with those three dresses you own in your closet. C’mon, buy me, you know we would have a good time.
PenRei: It’s just, the last pair of tights didn’t treat me so well. They tore after I wore them only three times and laughed in my face. It just broke my heart.
Tights: Aw, don’t worry. I’m not like those other tights. I’ll treat you right. Just feel that soft strong fabric of mine. I’ll keep those legs of yours safe from the cold and make you look good.
PenRei: I guess you’re right. Maybe you’re not like all the other tights. Maybe things could be different with you.

PenRei walks towards the cash register and buys the pair of tights.

INT – BEDROOM – MORNING – 3 WEARS LATER
PenRei slips on her black skirt and pulls out the red tights from her dresser. As she carefully rolls them up, out of nowhere, without a sound, appears a giant obvious rip.

PenRei: What? But I thought…
Tights: Relax girl. We had our time and it was fun while it lasted.
PenRei: I thought you were different.
Tights: Oh come on, you didn’t really buy into all of that did you.
PenRei: I can’t believe this is happening again.
Tights: What did you think was going to happen? That I would stick around forever?
PenRei takes off the tights.
Tights: You’ve been great beautiful, but I have to go now.
PenRei throws her tights into the garbage and opts to wear yet again a pair of skinny jeans to work with high boots to try and look like some kind of professional.

INT – STORE – DAY – 3 WEEKS LATER
PenRei stands in the tights department at the Bay, about to repeat the neverending cycle of  this most destructive relationship.
Fall is here! And I love fall, but that also means that summer heat is gone and that buying tights might happen soon. Why can’t I ever learn?! And why do I love you tights?!

Leave a comment